The Oyo State governor, Abiola Ajimobi of the All Progressives Congress lost in his bid to return to the National Assembly after an eight-year stint as a governor.

Ajimobi was elected governor in 2011 and will be completing his second term in May 29 this year.

He was the senator representing Oyo South Senatorial District in the National Assembly between 2007 and 2011.

Ajimobi lost to a former commissioner for commerce and Coperative during the regime of the former governor of the state, Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala.

Announcing the result on Monday, the collation officer, Professor Wole Akinsola said Dr. Kola Balogun of the PDP polled 105, 720 while his close rival, Governor Ajimobi scored 92,218.